January 17, 2024 minutes

Alexandria Township

Alexandria, Minnesota 56308

Minutes of the meeting of January 17, 2024

A regular meeting of the Board of Supervisors of Alexandria Township was held on the 17th day of January, 2024 at the Alexandria Township Conference Room, 324 Broadway and via teleconference.

ROLL CALL:  Supervisors present were Joel Dahlheimer, Rod Eldevik, Dennis Butz, Jeff Oberg and Jerry Wright.  Also present were Gregg Raisanen, Clerk and Mona Billmark, Treasurer.  Said members formed a quorum and the meeting was called to order by Chairman Eldevik at 6:00 p.m.

Wright, seconded by Dahlheimer, made a motion to approve the agenda with the addition of discussion of the ALASR expansion along CR 81 and CR82 under Old Business.  Motion carried unanimously.

Oberg, seconded by Butz, made a motion to approve the minutes of the 1/03/24 regular board meeting as written.  Motion carried unanimously.

Butz, seconded by Dahlheimer, made a motion to authorize payment of claims 24017 – 24030 in the amount of $17,156.61, EFTPS of $1,477.61, net payroll of $554.10 totaling $19,188.32 with a transfer from savings of $7,000.00. Motion carried unanimously.

CITIZEN’S CONCERNS:  Wally Tischer expressed concern regarding the proposed CR 82 ALASR expansion project.  He questioned both the necessity and the cost of the project.  He stated that if a parcel was assessed $30,000, the total cost for sewer installation would exceed $45,000.00, which would be excessive.

PLANNING AND ZONING:  Township Zoning Administrator Oleson presented an IUP request submitted by Kathy Hodges to place a recreational vehicle on a lot to be used as a temporary dwelling for a family member.  The property is located at 3813 Hazel Hill Road.  The planning commission recommended approval with 5 conditions.  Supervisor Oberg questioned the 5-year  timeframe for the interim use and recommended termination after 3 years with the opportunity to reapply at the end of the 3 year timeframe.  Oberg, seconded by Wright, made a motion to approve the IUP for Kathy Hodges as presented with the 5 conditions listed in the staff report and changing condition number 1 from five years to three.   For: Wright, Oberg, Butz, Dahlheimer, Eldevik.  Against: none.  Motion carried unanimously.

Oleson had no other Zoning Administrator items of business.

Engineer’s Report:  None.

OLD BUSINESS: The board discussed the ALASR CR 81 and 82 proposed sewer expansion project. Two residents located along CR 81 were present to express their concerns.  Mark Nohre stated he is not opposed to the project. He does, however, feel the proposed maximum assessment of $30,000 is excessive.  He estimated it would cost him approximately $45,000 to install sewer to his property.  A $20,000 assessment would be more reasonable.  Another person stated his intent to build on a parcel this spring and felt a $30,000 assessment was excessive.  Supervisors Oberg and Wright inquired if the town board would have the opportunity to reject the project if the bids came in high.  Chairman Eldevik reported he had discussed this with Scott Gilbertson of ALASD. If the town board approved the resolution of support, the town board would have no opportunity to reject the project. Chairman Eldevik also reported that ALASR and ALASD are funding a significant portion of the total cost of the project and if Alexandria Township pulls out of the project, the money will be used on the other portions of the project since the other three town boards have approved the project in their areas.  Oberg, seconded by Wright, made a motion to table action on the proposed resolution to receive further clarification from Scott Gilbertson.  Action on the resolution was tabled.

Chairman Eldevik reported ALASR is acting upon this project at their Jan. 31, 2024 meeting.  A special town meeting was called on January 29, 2024 at 6:00 PM to act upon the resolution.

Clerk Raisanen presented the names of four election judges to be appointed to serve in the upcoming elections:  Linda Dokken-McFann, Deb Eigen, Mona Billmark, and Marie Merten.  Wright, seconded by Dahlheimer, made a motion to appoint the recommended election judges.  Motion carried unanimously.


Being no further business, Dahlheimer, seconded by Butz, made a motion to adjourn.  Meeting adjourned at 6:55 PM.

Respectfully submitted….


Gregg Raisanen, Clerk

Approved this ____ day of ________, 2024


Rod Eldevik, Chairman